NSW Team for State of Origin 2023 Game 1

The NSW State of Origin team for Game 1 in 2023 has been announced, and it features a formidable lineup of talented players led by James Tedesco. Under the guidance of coach Brad Fittler, this team aims to reclaim the State of Origin title after a narrow defeat in the previous year. Let’s take a closer look at the selected players and their potential impact on the game.

NSW Team for State of Origin 2023 Game 1

NSW Team

  1. James Tedesco (c)
  2. Brian To’o
  3. Latrell Mitchell
  4. Tom Trbojevic
  5. Josh Addo-Carr
  6. Jarome Luai
  7. Nathan Cleary
  8. Tevita Pangai Junior
  9. Apisai Koroisau
  10. Payne Haas
  11. Tyson Frizell
  12. Hudson Young
  13. Isaah Yeo
  14. Junior Paulo
  15. Cameron Murray
  16. Liam Martin
  17. Nicho Hynes
  18. Stephen Crichton
  19. Stefano Utoikamanu

James Tedesco (c)

As the captain of the NSW team, James Tedesco brings exceptional leadership qualities and an unrivaled work ethic. Renowned for his speed, agility, and playmaking abilities, Tedesco is a game-changer. His presence on the field instills confidence in the team and sets the tone for their attacking strategies.

Backline Players

The NSW backline is packed with talent, featuring Brian To’o, Latrell Mitchell, Tom Trbojevic, and Josh Addo-Carr. Each player brings a unique set of skills and strengths that make them formidable opponents. Brian To’o’s exceptional speed and fearless runs make him a valuable asset on the wing. Latrell Mitchell’s size, strength, and agility make him a formidable center, while Tom Trbojevic’s versatility and game sense provide an additional attacking threat. Josh Addo-Carr’s lightning speed and try-scoring ability have earned him a reputation as one of the best wingers in the game.

Halfbacks and Five-Eighth

The partnership between Jarome Luai and Nathan Cleary in the halves has been instrumental in the success of the NSW team. Jarome Luai’s creativity and flair complement Nathan Cleary’s exceptional game management skills. Together, they form a dynamic duo that can dismantle even the toughest defenses.

Forward Pack

The forward pack consists of Tevita Pangai Junior, Apisai Koroisau, Payne Haas, Tyson Frizell, Hudson Young, Isaah Yeo, Junior Paulo, and Cameron Murray. Each player brings a unique skill set and physicality to the team. Tevita Pangai Junior’s powerful runs and offloading ability create havoc for opposition defenses. Apisai Koroisau’s speed and intelligence from the dummy-half position add a different dimension to the team’s attack. Payne Haas, Tyson Frizell, Hudson Young, Isaah Yeo, Junior Paulo, and Cameron Murray provide the team with size, strength, and defensive prowess.

Bench Players

Liam Martin, Nicho Hynes, Stephen Crichton, and Stefano Utoikamanu have been selected as bench players, providing valuable depth and versatility to the team. Liam Martin’s work rate and toughness make him an excellent addition off the bench. Nicho Hynes’s versatility allows him to cover multiple positions, while Stephen Crichton’s speed and skill make him a potent weapon. Stefano Utoikamanu’s power and impact off the bench make him a valuable asset in the forward rotation.

Coach: Brad Fittler

Brad Fittler, a legendary player himself, brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the role of coach. His emphasis on building a strong team culture and his innovative coaching strategies have been instrumental in the recent success of the NSW team. Fittler’s ability to extract the best out of his players and create a cohesive unit is one of his greatest strengths.


The NSW State of Origin team for Game 1 in 2023 is a formidable force, boasting a combination of skill, talent, and experience. Led by captain James Tedesco and guided by coach Brad Fittler, this team has the potential to reclaim the State of Origin title. With a balanced lineup comprising of exceptional backs, creative halves, and a formidable forward pack, the NSW team is well-prepared to take on their opponents. The anticipation and excitement surrounding the upcoming match are palpable, as fans eagerly await the clash between the best players from New South Wales and their Queensland counterparts.

Also Read: 2023 State of Origin Match Officials