Robert Slade Memorial Trophy

Presented to the Winner of the Sydney International Horse Trials CCI3*

This trophy was donated by Ron & Pam Slade in memory of their son, Robert Slade – a promising young eventer tragically killed in an accident, just as he was on the cusp of Australia representation.

Robert’s best performances were obtained in Europe but he is remembered here for his win on Tribal Law at Lochinvar and many great performances in the Advanced ranks of the Pony Club. His wonderful mare, Beauford Miss Dior twice completed Badminton and his main hope for selection to represent Australia at the Sydney Olympics.

The Robert Slade memorial trophy was dedicated to the competition by Ron & Pam not only to carry Roberts name but also to recognise the top performer at the highest level in New South Wales. There can be no better event than the CCI3* competition at the Sydney International Horse Trials.

Past Winners

2000 Amanda Ross & Ottoshumacker(At Lochinvar)

2001 Megan Jones & (Kirby Park Hallmark)( CIC3*)

2002 Sammi McLeod (Frederick Hunter)

2003 Kadi Eyecamp (Seal)

2004 Heath Ryan (Flame)

2005 Wendy Schaffer & (Koyuna Sun Magic)

2006 Sharmayne Spencer (Megastar)

2007 No Competition (Equine Influenza)

2008 Sonja Johnson & (Ringwould Jaguar)

2009 Wendy Schaffer & (Koyuna Sun Storm)

2010 Heath Ryan (Mystery Whisper)

2011 Christine Bates (Adelaide Hill)

2012 Shane Rose (Taurus)

2013 Stuart Tinney (Pluto Mio)

2014 Shane Rose (CP Qualified)

2015 Elizabeth Lowery (KL Kismet)

2016 Sonja Johnson (Parkiarrup Illicit Liaison)

2017 Madeline Wilson (Im Bruce)

2018 Christine Bates (Adelaide Hill)