Holstein Park Leilani Trophy

Presented to the best mare in CCI3*

The trophy will be presented to the highest placed mare in the CCI3* at the end of competition  and will include $1000 prize money.

A perpetual trophy, inaugurated in 2014 and generously donated by Jean and Jade Findlay, owners of one of Australia’s most accomplished Eventing mares, Holstein Park Leilani.


“I wanted to give support and encouragement to the riders,” explained Jean. “This is a way to acknowledge Leilani’s accomplishments but to also give something back to the sport and the riders.”

Leilani, a 17hh Holsteiner x TB by Lander, began eventing with Jean’s daughter, Jade, who took the mare through to the 2 star level, however the ride was was given to Christopher Burton in 2008 when Jade became pregnant. In their 5 years together Leilani and Christopher achieved some outstanding international results. The pair rose to the forefront of Australian eventing winning Goulburn CIC*** 2009 (NSW Championship), Albury CIC***2010 and 2011, Sydney International World Cup CIC*** 2010. Leilani was 2nd overall in the 2010/2011 HSBC World Cup Series after winning the Sydney leg, a 2nd placing in Kihikihi (NZL) and a 3rd placing in Le Pin au Haras, France.

Chris and Leilani went on to represent Australia at the 2010 World Equestrian Games in Lexington Kentucky, at the 2012 London Olympics and at the 2013 World Equestrian Festival at Aachen Germany. Together they also competed at the CCI4* in Adelaide, Burghley, Pau and Badminton, finishing with a top 10 placing at both Pau and Badminton. Jean, Jade and Christopher announced that Leilani, aged 18, would retire after competing at Aachen – and in a notable swansong, Leilani won the World Equestrian Festival there in 2013, beating a top field that included the reigning London Olympic Gold medallist.

Leilani has now returned to Australia and is at the Findlay’s Cattai property. “Where she is giving valuable advice to Jade’s up and coming eventing horses” says Jean.

The Findlay’s are excited to announce their first Leilani foal, via surrogate.


Past Winners

2014   Rebel Morrow – Hillgrove Enviable

2015    Makayla Wood – Early Days

2016    Alex Townsend – Parodie

2017    Virginia Thompson – Star Nouveau (NZ)